José Alejandro Riascos Ramírez

I am an undergraduate biology student from Colombia and an illustrator by hobby. Although I am focused on learning more about birds and mammals, I always try to escape to draw my own version of reality and share it with others, because personally, I think that it is the best way to spread knowledge, ideas and emotions… and honestly, there are things that must be shared. 

Nate Walsh

[August 1 – August 15th]

Background in advertising and psychology. I currently live in Austin, Texas, USA, working at a tech-focused ad agency as a copywriter. I do not like writing about myself in third person . I am strongly in favor of Oxford commas.

Previously attended Andy’s hiking hackathon in Panama, back in 2015. Now, I’ll be helping document DiNaCon – definitely in the form of daily write-ups, but I’m also a big of instant photography, so hella Polaroids, too.

Pretty into karaoke, personality tests, theme parties, glitter, hula hooping, and tarot readings (and will have my cards on me, if you’re interested!) I will be mentally sorting you into your Hogwarts house, sorry. Trying to learn the guitar; so so so bad at it.

2007 Seattle-Area Pokémon Spelling Bee Champion, Age 21 and Up.

Jorge Medina Madrid

Jorge Medina Madrid, es un estudiante de 24 años que cursa el último año de la carrera de Biología Animal en la Universidad de Panamá. Mi interes está en el grupo de las Aves, especialmente las Aves Nocturnas.

Jorge Medina Madrid, is a 24-year-old student who is in the last year of his degree in Animal Biology at the University of Panama. My interest is in the group of Birds, especially the Night Birds. He’s an expert at taxidermy, and costume designer for one of the larger Carnival events in Panama!

Ananda Gabo

(Photo of me eating a military meal ration from the Peoples Liberation Army of China.)

I did go to university for design, but most of my intellectual nurturing was through my high school, SEED Alternative School (offered through the public school system, aka its free) in Toronto, Ontario. Through a radical teaching pedagogy led by Pamila Matharu I learned that my anti-disciplinary nature was an wonderful thing to have in exploring the world around me (this was not ok in university aha).

Past experiences and life meandering have included working as a UX/UI designer in a domestic robotics factory in Suzhou, wandering the hardware markets of Shenzhen, fabricator in a wearable design studio, building makeshift operating rooms with my mom for aid trips, running a radical feminists arts collective, trying to start a biohacking lab in a squat and then getting our wall punched in, and learning how to make GMOs. I don’t know what to do with my life yet.

I currently work as a cook at a restaurant that focuses on hyper localization, and as an education lead for the Toronto Youth Food Policy Council. By the time I will be at DiNaCon, I will probably have finished a foraging internship in Finland, as long as my residency with ArsBioarctica.

At DiNaCon, I’ll be working on a food related project. More will be posted soon.